Current time on Bali 6:09 pm
Currency: United States Dollar (USD)
Top currencies
All currencies
Balinese Festivals

Balinese Festivals


Balinese Festivals January & February 2014

In any given month there are many festivals, ceremonies and rituals taking place all around the island. Many ceremonies occur every 210 days and as such every few years ceremonies such as Galungan, Kuningan, Saraswati, Pagerwesi etc occur twice in the western calendar. So it is this year with all these holidays (and several others as well) occuring again in August. In addition to the ceremonies and observances  listed below your Bali hotel concierge (or better yet any Balinese taxi driver) will be able to assist you to find an interesting ceremony to attend. That being said, below are the most important festivals and ceremonies for January and February. And when attending any ceremony or festival, please keep in mind the tips outlined on the etiquette page.


Note. * denotes more information available, click on the 'Balinese Festivals' tab


 

JANUARY 2014:

01 January (Wednesday)
Ceremony: Hari Buda Kliwon Matal, Kajeng Kliwon, Tilem Sasih Keenem
Locations: Puseh Temple, Pasek Gelgel-Bebetin Sawan Buleleng


11 January (Saturday)
Ceremony: Tumpek Kandang
Locations: Pura Puseh & Pura Desa Gianyar, Pura Luhur Dalem Segening Tabanan, Meru Pasek Gelgel-Tegalgede Badung


15 January (Wednesday)
Ceremony: Hari Purnama Kepitu
Locations: Pejeng Kaja Gianyar, Pura Puseh Manangkaji Peninjoan Bangli, Pura Kawitan Gusti Celuk Gianyar

16 January (Thursday)
Ceremony: Kajeng Kliwon Uwudan
Locations: Island wide - all of Bali


17 January (Friday)
Ceremony: Hari Bathara Sri
Locations: Island wide - all of Bali


21 January (Tuesday)
Ceremony: Hari Anggara Kasih Prangbakat
Locations: Pura Bukit Buluh Gunaksa Klungkung, Pura Tirta Sudamala Babalang Bangli, Pura Pasek Gelgel Dawan Klungkung

29 January (Wednesday)
Ceremony: Hari Siwaratri Caka 1935
Locations: Island wide - all of Bali

 

30 January (Thursday)
Ceremony: Tilem Sasih Kepitu
Locations: Pura Buana Kawan & Ulun Kulkul Besakih

 

31 January (Friday)
Ceremony: Kajeng Kliwon Enyitan
Locations: Island wide - all of Bali


FEBRUARY 2014:
05 February (Wednesday)
Ceremony: Hari Buda Kliwon Ugu
Locations: Pura Pasek Gelgel , Tabanan

14 February (Friday)
Ceremony: Hari Purnama Sasih Kawulu
Locations: Pura Dalem Desa Batur Bangli, Pura Buana Kawan Besakih


15 February (Saturday)
Ceremony: Hari Tumpek Wayang & Kajeng Kliwon Uwudan
Locations: Pura Majapahit Jembrana, Bhtara Ratu Gede Sukawati, Bangli


19 February (Wednesday)
Ceremony: Hari Buda Cemeng Kelawu
Locations: Penataran Agung Teluk Padang Karangasem, Pura Melanting Sukawati Gianyar


21 February (Friday)
Ceremony: Hari Bhatara Sri
Locations: Island wide - all of Bali

 

25 February (Tuesday)
Ceremony: Hari Anggara Kasih Dukut
Locations: Island wide - all of Bali

 

 

 

© Copyright CV. Informatika 1997 - 2014 All rights reserved.